Dream Big!

Archive for June 15, 2012

One More Step

Sometimes we just don’t know how we are going to finish what we start. The obstacles seem too big or the details are too ambiguous and we can easily and quickly feel overwhelmed. This is how I felt as I was preparing to run in a half marathon. I was so tentative about how I would do it that I wouldn’t declare it as a goal until I was almost ready to do it.

Thirteen point one miles seemed too overwhelming for me. So, as I began thinking about the race and the vision of me running the race came into focus I had to break it down a little bit. I found a nice training program on the Internet and started slowly. As I was starting to train, I had an epiphany. I noticed that regardless of how tired I became I could always take one more step. Just one more step! Then after that one, I could just make one more step. It’s a simple but beautiful concept.

ImageThen, “one more step” became the theme of my training. Whenever I was tired I thought to myself, “come on, you can take just one more step!”. And, I found out that was true. Whenever I thought of how far 13.1 miles is, I thought to myself, “you can do it – just one step at a time!”. And, I found out that was true too.

As a matter of fact, I think that’s true in lots of things in our lives. We might not have a full vision of what God has in store for us but we can make it if we start with just one more step. Then, after that step is done, we can just focus on making one more. We might be tired, too tired to take 100 more steps, but we can take just one more step.

Life is a series of “one more steps” and we are always equipped to take that one more step. When we break it down like that, life can seem so much easier for us. It seems to take some of the demands of life and ratchet them down a little. We don’t have to go from running one mile on Monday to 13.1 on Tuesday, we can just focus on that step – that one more step!Image