Dream Big!

Fan into flame…

The apostle Paul wrote raised up Timothy as a follower of Jesus and as a leader in the church at Ephesus. Paul had raised Timothy up as a leader, had placed his hands on him and released him to lead in the church. Now, after some time, Paul sends Timothy a letter that today we call 2 Timothy. 

Paul encourages Timothy throughout this letter, reminding Timothy of his calling and of the good works that Timothy has done to grow the church in Ephesus. One of the most encouraging words that Paul has for Timothy, though, is found in 2 Timothy 1:6. “For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands.” 

Paul had raised Timothy up to lead. He had laid his hands on him and released him as a leader. Now, Paul wants Timothy to remember these things; he wants Timothy to be encouraged by the memory of Paul’s laying on of hands and releasing him to lead.

It’s almost like Paul saying to Timothy, “I believe in you. Remember, I raised you up as a leader and released you. I laid my hands on you, prayed for you, and released you into good works. I still believe in you. I know you have what it takes and I want you to know that you do have what it takes and I am here, walking alongside you, to make sure you continue in what you’ve been released to do.”

I want to encourage all of you, like Paul encouraged Timothy. Remember that you are called to lead your LifeGroups. Remember that I believed in you as I released you to lead your LifeGroup and that I still believe in you as you lead today. You have what it takes! 

So, please fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you…                               Image

Leave a Reply

